Lucky Number

 

Whenever someone says pick a number my mind defaults to the same old.  Nine. 

  •  When I was in a jury pool, part of Group 9, I knew I’d be on the jury. I wanted to    serve…curiosity.
  • Elizabeth’s phone number is replete with nines.
  •  Both of my parents were born in the ninth month. 
  •  Etcetera, etcetera, to quote the King of Siam.

When I was a kid I figured there’d be only one time in my lifetime that would be the perfect day for nines.  9/9/99.  Accordingly I planned a party for that day, at nine o’clock a.m. or p.m,  or better yet both. It was a fun thought that I kept all my years.

Until the time arrived.  My heart was still too sore from my husband’s death in 1996. So I just said a little prayer of thankfulness on My-Day-of-Nines.

I was getting my schedule calendar up-to-date for the coming year when a lovely thought came to me.  This is the year when the number 10 will become a once-in-a-lifetime day.  10/10/10.  And on that auspicious day Sophia will celebrate her twelfth birthday! 

Sophia of the Kind Heart,     Sophia the Perfectionist…the straight A Kid,    Sophia of Wisdom Beyond Her years,    Sophia  #13 on the winning-est soccer team around.   That Sophia.

 

Ten, ten, ten.   

 

 

 

 

~ by dottiedoright on December 9, 2009.

One Response to “Lucky Number”

  1. She was born at 10 in the morning too. I always tell her that she’s my perfect 10!

Leave a Reply

 
