Movies and Books, Love ’em

 

 

Jack and I took Kay to see The Princess and the Frog.  I expected to sit through another kiddie movie while I mentally made a grocery list, etc.   But surprise, it was fun! 

When you consider all the man hours, and all the magnificent talent that went into making this Disney production, it is impressive.  But I wasn’t thinking of that as I heard that Cajun firefly warn “Don’t make me light up my butt!”, or watched the swamp funeral, or listened to all the great music by Randy Newman.

Just happen to be reading a book about New Orleans.  The horror of  Hurricane Katrina leaps off the page.  So to see these lovely drawings of the city before the hurricane  are lovely, and a bit saddening too.

And in regard to books,  I am awaiting my Christmas gift to myself.  A Kindle from Amazon.  I have rationalized the purchase this way.  It is getting difficult to hold a book in my hands for any length of time.  You know…four or five hours.  So I finally bought into the hype.  Yesterday I hit Amazon again and preloaded it with three books while it is yet in the UPS delivery system.  Downloaded and ready to read when it arrives. (If that isn’t magic, what is?) It is the dimensions of a paperback, but as thick as a pencil.   

The Kindle will hold 1,500 electronic books. I don’t know if one can pass books on to another Kindle or PC, but I’m sure there is some method to donate them afterwards. There is an adjustment for the size of print, and lighting…so one can read in the dark or bright sunlight.  

No more packing 6 books for a trip, or stacking them around the house, or buying them for twice the price!  Yeah, $10 for a new hardcover that would go for $25 plus.

 Reader’s review down the road.

Wishing you a blessed Christmas,

Jack and Dorothy

~ by dottiedoright on December 22, 2009.

2 Responses to “Movies and Books, Love ’em”

  1. I’ve never done a blog before but…might as well be a first! Very cute picture. You said to share movies/books so decided to do that as I read a lot during the winter….it’s my quiet time. I read one that really moved me and low and behold….the book club that a number of gals I know are in have chosen it for their “book of the month”. It’s called Sarah’s Key. Very moving and very cleverly written. I’m now reading a book due to the movie that Ronnie and I both enjoyed…”Blindside”. It’s a true story and very inspirational….and informative about football which I know very little about.

  2. I’m glad you got yourself a Kindle for Christmas. What a wonderful piece of technology. I couldn’t justify getting it for Kiley…yet. She uses the library so efficiently; however right now her fines are so high that it will take her awhile to pay them off. So what does she do? Borrows my card, stinker!

Leave a Reply

 
