Pin-up Girls

Today my daughter, a professional photographer, told me she is frequently asked to do  ‘pin-up’ photos. It brought to mind all the famous pin-ups of my era.  I’m sure you won’t mind recalling them with me. 

The very term ‘pin-up’ brings to mind the Vargas girls of magazine and calendar fame. Such long legs. So feminine. In the very recognizable Vargas style of the 30’and 40’s.

 

 

And the Petty girls, ditto:

 

And the real girls:  Pin-ups that went to war with our GI’s.  Most famous from World War II are Betty Grable and Rita Hayworth:

Betty

 

Rita                                               

Then in the 50’s came the world-renowned, Marilyn Monroe.  I was so lucky to be a teenager during her heyday.  She made the full-bodied woman the standard!

Marilyn

 

And two other beauties that deserve some space, they were very popular pin-ups:

Ava Gardner

 

Jane Russell

 Fast forward a bit to the 80’s, and my teenage son had this lovely on his wall.

Farrah Fawcett

Then in the 90’s, Demi Moore was the poster girl pin up.  

Demi Moore

 

Today’s most beautiful:  Halle Berry

 And the best for last:  My sister-in-law, Betty Boop.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

~ by dottiedoright on January 14, 2010.

2 Responses to “Pin-up Girls”

  1. When I was small, my father called me his “little Petty girl”. I had forgotten that. Thank you for the remembrance.

  2. Woah! I’m really loving the template/theme of this website. It’s simple, yet effective.

    A lot of times it’s challenging to get that “perfect balance” between user friendliness and visual appearance. I must say you’ve done
    a amazing job with this. In addition, the blog loads extremely fast for me on Firefox.
    Outstanding Blog!

Leave a Reply

 
