Under the Weeping Willow Tree

 

 

Why do you weep dear willow? Why do your branches hang low?  Could it be you know a secret….that other trees don’t know?                             June Carter Cash

 

Songs and legends abound.  The Weeping Willow charms us all. 

 

  • I’ll hang my heart from a weeping willow tree, and may the world go well with thee!  

 

  • Bend your branches low down along the ground and cover me.  Listen to my plea. Hear me, Willow, and weep for me.

 

  • So bury me under the willow, under the weeping willow tree, so that he may know I am sleeping, and perhaps he’ll weep for me.

 

Sad words, you say?  Yes, but only in poetic form.  The weeping willow is a delight for the senses.

 Every child knows that one of the best places to ‘play house’ is under a weeping willow tree.  A curtain of rustling green enfolds you, and there is always space under its graceful canopy to set up your cardboard box furniture.  And in case of attack, it become a wonderful hide-out, or fort.  The weeping willow loves children.

 

An old grave marker.

 

Historical references and images of the weeping willow are found in every culture.  Some of my ancestors, Native Americans, brewed a tea from its bark to relieve pain and fevers.  When tea was not available, just chewing the twigs helped.  Salicylic acid, the great-grandaddy of what we call aspirin.

 

My Ozark grandfather made bent willow furniture.

 

  Their branches are still woven into attractive baskets.

 My own willow anecdote:  I had a mother who believed in ‘spare the rod, spoil the child’, and nothing delivered this better than the sting of a willow switch against bare legs.  Ouch! 

 I was six years old and had received punishment for some misdemeanor and was doing the willow tree dance.  Then seeing the dreaded switch discarded on the ground  I took it to muddy place and  planted it.  And today? 

 Willow trees and moonlight, what a wonderful recipe.

 

 

 

~ by dottiedoright on January 21, 2010.

3 Responses to “Under the Weeping Willow Tree”

  1. thank you for the AMAZING pics and the information! although I don’t think I could bring myself to using this furniture (poor willow!!) :D
    thx!!!

  2. Hi,
    I love your willow tree. I, too, used to love being under the canopy of the willow tree, always felt safe there, like I was in my own little world.
    Are these your photos? I need a photo of a willow tree to use on the cover of a book. I’m interested in buying the photo of the willow in shadows, the second one down.

  3. [...] found this picture on a blog called Red Slipper Diary but I am not certain to whom original credit belongs to. I have loved learning to use my [...]

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

